Members GET INVOLVED at the 74th
Annual Membership Meeting

The heavy thunderstorms in the wee hours of the morning didn’t keep everyone in their homes on Saturday, September 29 for Medina EC’s 74th Annual Membership Meeting. Nearly 100 individuals walked into Texas A&M International University in Laredo, Texas to get the scoop on the history, the present state and future vision of their cooperative.

Members were welcomed with smiles from the Medina EC staff and enjoyed a continental breakfast before the start of the meeting. Each attendee was handed this year’s attendance gift – an Igloo Beverage Cooler. Various prizes were given away throughout the morning, including energy credits, gift cards, and gift bags. Three lucky members won the final prizes. Javier and Alma Zamora received a $500 Energy Credit, Ruby Brigman took home the highly popular iPad 3, and Israel Hinojosa won $1,000 in cash.

The theme of “involvement” was prevalent throughout the meeting. Members were informed about the obstacles Medina EC faces now and in the future, and the role involvement will play in assuring a continued effort to provide affordable and reliable electricity to its members.  “There is uncertainty in what co-ops will be 5 to 10 years from now,” said CEO Mark Rollans during his report to the members. “But there is one thing we are very certain of. As long as Medina Electric Cooperative is here to serve its members, we will always make it our primary mission to exceed member expectations in everything we do.”

The Cooperative Story

“We have 74 years behind us now and without you - the owners of this cooperative - we would not exist today,” said Board President Glenn Schweers. Glenn told a story to the members about an “old-timer” he once knew that told him that he would turn off their power at the end of the month to avoid paying more than the minimum at the time. He continued by saying that not many people there that day would be willing to do that, but it was a much different time back then.

During his Board President Report, President Schweers presented a video produced by Touchstone Energy, that covered the history and culture of electric cooperatives. He also discussed  the “two-way-street” of involvement. Meaning, that as important as it is for members to get involved in their co-op, it is just as important for Medina EC to get involved in the community it serves as well. 

The 3 P’s: Paradigms, Public Policy and Politics

CEO Mark Rollans discussed the two things that everyone is concerned about when it comes to powering our homes - affordability and reliability. He explained that through focusing on the “3 P’s” - Paradigms, Public Policy and Politics - co-op’s and their members will be better prepared for the future.
In these dynamic times, Medina EC understands that complacency is not an option. We must be able to handle the paradigm shifts that may come our way. Public Policy is another obstacle that could blindside an unwary co-op with unfair regulations. Many of these regulations brew behind closed doors without the co-op’s knowledge. Politics is the most significant part of what can affect the reliability and affordability of our electricity. The co-op business model was born out of politics and its influence still exists today.

Board Election Results

The election results for the Board of Directors were announced and the winners are:
     • Wayne W. Scholtz was elected for District 1
     • Incumbent Kenneth White was re-elected for District 2

     • J. L. (Jose Luis) Gonzalez was elected for District 3

Medina EC honored departing District 3 Director Albert Lowry, District 3 Director Cesar Gonzalez and District 1 Director Richard Saathoff for their dedicated service to the cooperative.
Albert Lowry respresented District 3 beginning in 2008 to 2012. Cesar Gonzalez represented District 3 beginning in 2006 to 2008 and again from 2009 to 2012. Richard Saathoff represented District 1 beginning in 2003 to 2012. During his tenure Richard held positions as MEC Board Secretary-Treasurer from 2008-2012 and served on the SMEC Board as Alternate Director from 2008 to 2011 and Director from 2011 to 2012.

Your 75th Annual Membership Meeting

The 2013 Medina Electric Cooperative Annual Membership Meeting will be held in Voting District 1. The date, location and time of the meeting will be announced next year.